The Government of California – Jigsaw Puzzle

Use the menu on the left of the picture to generate the number of pieces for the jigsaw puzzle.

The city of Sacramento is the seat of California’s state government. Most of the rooms in the historic Capitol building are used daily for important state business.

The government of California represents over 38 million people. It is made up of three branches: the Executive, the Legislative, and the Judicial. These branches work together to make sure the state’s laws are fair and represent the needs of the people.

The Executive branch is led by the Governor. The Governor is elected by the people to lead the state militia, administer and enforce laws, and represent California in interactions with other governments. There are also many state departments within the Executive branch that focus on issues like healthcare and transportation.

The Legislative branch includes the Assembly and Senate. The Legislature will propose, analyze, and debate over 6,000 bills in a single two-year session. The Assembly has 80 members, and the Senate has 40 members. Even though it has the largest population of any state, California’s Legislature is one of the smallest in the nation.

The Judicial branch is made up of the Supreme, appellate, and superior courts. These courts make sure the Executive and Legislative branches do not create laws that are in conflict with the California State Constitution. They also make sure that laws are applied fairly in all court cases.