State Nuts

Almond, Walnut, Pistachio, Pecan

Almond (Prunus dulcis / Prunus amygdalus)
Walnut (Juglans)
Pistachio (Pistacia vera)
Pecan (Carya illinoinensis)

California’s nut-growing region is so crucial to the state’s economy that it has four official State Nuts: almond, walnut, pistachio, and pecan. California grows 80% of the world’s almonds, 75% of the world’s walnuts, and 98% of pistachios in the United States. Although pecans are a small portion of California’s nut industry, it is the only state nut that is native to the United States, which is why lobbyists fought to add it to the list.

Despite official recognition as State Nuts, these four are not technically nuts. Biologically, these “nuts” are the edible seeds of stone fruits known as drupes. Botanically, there is a difference. However, in culinary terms, “nut” usually refers to any hard-walled, edible kernel.

(Assembly Bill 1067, Chapter 49, 2017)

Explore our State Symbols